Only Child says Dell Canada came through with Windows 7 problem

Laptop 18-433930798Sometimes big companies do come through with providing good service and with a staffer who not  only knows what he or she is doing but is also polite and professional.

So, after the runaround with Dell Computers, Canada Branch a few weeks back to extend my laptop lease on a month to month basis for up to a year, and get the service warranty connected to it extended, it was a surprise and relief when I actually had to use the current warranty to get a malfunctioning part in Windows 7 fixed. Yes, that is covered by my warranty, so no extra charge. Like many people with Windows 7, the Check for Updates function  on my laptop got stuck in an endless loop. I only hit that button because the regular daily check had stopped working the week before the monthly Microsoft updates.  There were also some Dell software updates that needed installing and perhaps they might be interfering here.

So I used my warranty and the Dell Support Assistant on my laptop to get to the contact info for Technical Support and phoned them. The first person took down the basic particulars, then transferred me to someone else who got the info on the problem then transferred me to an actual technical support person. This might seem like a runaround, but it all took under five minutes with no wait time for each call.

The fellow who helped me was Raj. He explained what he was doing and got my permission to access my computer remotely, taking me through each step. I also had him download and install Internet Explorer 11 in case that was needed to download Windows 7 updates. First, I told him I wanted to see if the other stuff opened the way for the update function to work.

It didn’t. But the email Raj sent me (all technicians do this after a session) with the Service No. also had the line that if I still had problems related to that service no. to get back to him.

Next day I did and suggested a time for him to call me. He did at the requested time and he got to work with the Windows 7 problem again with my permission using their program to access my computer and keeping me informed about what was going on.  And he did use Internet Explorer 11 for this.  After awhile he said this would be taking longer so he would put me on chat and we could stop the phone call. This gave him a chance to work on my computer problem (and maybe a few others’ computer problems that weren’t so complex) and me to go on to other things on my desktop computer.

The whole thing took around three and a half hours (I also had time to cook dinner in the oven and eat it). When I saw the laptop shutting down and rebooting and then put in my password to connect to Windows 7 and then saw the familiar updates available logo instead of the loopy Check for Windows updates, I cheered and got back to Raj with a thank you. And let him know he could close the remote connection and close the chat.

Of course being the partial computer Luddite that I am, I didn’t think to restart the computer again to clear, so when I clicked on the download and install updates – it didn’t do it. So I shut down the laptop.

I left it for a few days and when I turned on the laptop yesterday, opened the Windows Update box and hit the download and install button, it worked. And yes, I emailed Raj’s manager (there is a link in the email for that) and gave a good report on Raj and how much he helped me with the laptop software problems.

I don’t know what exactly was the block to Windows updates, but as mentioned above it is now common on laptops since last year when Microsoft started pushing Windows 10 on everyone with Windows 7 or Windows 8.1. As Windows guru Woody Leonhard says, Microsoft wants us to upgrade to Windows 10, not do updates to Windows 7, yet Microsoft is supporting Windows 7 until 2020. It is still 2016.

Bill Gates, now a philanthropist, is probably glad he is no longer with Microsoft. People used to take his name in vain when he was. But the powers that be that took over from him are missing something – like they don’t seem to know or grasp the true philosophy of customer service. Maybe they should take a lesson from the Dell Canada technical support system.

Would like comments on others dealings with Microsoft  in particular.

Cheers.

Sharon

Only Child Writes

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dell Canada, Help and Support, Life demands, Microsoft, Only child, Technology problems

Leave a Reply

