Only Child loves the B bugs

Butterfly on Only Child's cap

Butterfly on Only Child’s cap

I love bugs, insects and the like whose first letter is a “b.” So that includes bees and butterflies. As Wikipedia states about the latter:

“Butterflies are insects in the clade Rhopalocera from the order Lepidoptera, which also includes moths. Adult butterflies have large, often brightly coloured wings, and conspicuous, fluttering flight.”

Last week I saw thousands of butterflies up close when on holidays in southwestern Ontario. My cousin Anne took me to the Cambridge Butterfly Conservatory in Cambridge, Ontario. The actual conservatory itself runs from April to October and is an amazing and beautiful butterfly and moth sanctuary. There are also birds such as dove and quail peaking out from the many plants and shrubs. You can see butterflies in their pre-stages of larvae; ugly beetles which are not butterflies, and get the grand tour from knowledgeable staff.

But the best part is walking around in the conservatory and just letting whatever will happen do so. Butterflies land on your hands and for some reason my beige cap was a big attraction. Anne took the photo above. I also took some photos – obviously not of butterflies landing on me – I am not ambedexterious.

There are also two rooms outside of the conservatory which have photos of butterflies with information posted near them, a gift shop and a cafe.

I think I got interested in butterflies 30 or so years ago when I lived in Aurora and went to an  art and craft shop which held monthly openings for its current exhibiting artists. Then I would write a story about it for the local newspaper. One artist had captured butterflies in an artistic arrangement. While I prefer to let butterflies be free or be set free, the arrangements were beautiful.

Then in 2003 I interviewed a fellow Ken McGrath who raised butterflies in his apartment and then in a rented room. It was his own business and he would mail them out to clients who wanted the butterflies to set them free at weddings, memorial services and the like. My very short story on Ken was published in Toronto Life magazine. Four years later when I interviewed Ken again for another magazine story, he had acquired a business partner and expanded his business – so I interviewed  her as well. That story, a longer one, was published in the now defunct Centre of the City magazine. After that Ken moved his butterfly business to rural Ontario. Today he is an artist who has traded butterflies for spider webs, which he uses in his pendants. He is now nicknamed Spider Web Wrangler. More info on Ken at the Pazan Gallery site where his creations have appeared.

Meantime, when out in my garden I look for butterflies landing on my ecinaccea, fennel and black-eyed susans. And check out my blog’s garden page here.

Cheers.

Sharon

Only Child Writes

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardens, Only child

Leave a Reply

