Only Child on when the rains came

My garden is grateful for the weekend rain

My garden is grateful for the weekend rain

It rained finally in southern Ontario late Saturday and all day Sunday. The gardens and lawns are grateful and so am I, especially as no water got into my basement. That was the big criteria and for once I was listened to.

When I look at the ferocious floods in Texas and Oklahoma on The Weather Network or Global TV news, I am troubled. That so much damage can be done to people and their property is not good. I feel for them and anyone else in the world who has to live through extreme weather.

And that unfortunately is as my late mother-in-law used to say “the way of the world.”

It is also the way of God. But more on that later.

Last evening The Weather Network gave the forecast for this summer across Canada. Bottom line is hot and dry in the west, moderate to some hot in the centre, and warmer in parts of the Maritimes. Much depends on this El Nino the meteorologists say (three of them talked about it on this forecast segment.)  It doesn’t mean we’ll be freezing and we might get a few hot hot days but not long spans of hot and humid. Also more rain. See the video at http://www.theweathernetwork.com/news/articles/summer-weather-forecast-2015-predictions/52012/

But they can’t predict exactly. And when you look, see and hear the weather forecasts from different sources, they just can’t agree, even for the next 24 hours. The raw meteorological data is there from Environment Canada, but it’s all open to interpretation. And who knows if the original is accurate.

Saturday on the bus, three of us ladies (who had never met before) started talking about the weather. One lady said if we wanted to do anything Saturday, do it in the morning because it will rain in the afternoon. I said something about rain start time according to The Weather Network but commented that forecasters don’t agree.

“God controls the weather,” the third lady said.

“I agree,” I replied. “You hit the nail on the head.”

What I am finding surprising is lately I have run into several people who have this take on the weather. More surprising is they have no idea how I believe about this and speak first.

Not sure what this means. I do know and believe two things. The weather is not all from climate change and weather forecasts don’t always get it right.

Cheers.

 

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

Leave a comment

Filed under Extreme Weather, Floods, God, Gratitude, Only child, Rain, Weather

Leave a Reply

