Only Child mulls over fall and winter weather forecasts

Only Child's front garden -  the way it should be with the beautiful juniper in front

Only Child’s front garden – the way it should be with the beautiful juniper (before winter damage) in front

Summer, such as it is, still continues but the hype for fall and winter weather is on. Do we believe it or hope for something better?

The bible of weather reporting, The Weather Network, announced its forecast for the upcoming fall and winter seasons. See http://www.theweathernetwork.com/news/articles/2014-fall-outlook-and-winter-preview-greater-toronto-area/35515/ They hedge around whether the weather will be another unusually cold one this winter basing it on if El Nino hits North America or not.

Another source, Accuweather, is predicting much the same with a worse forecast of a cold fall and snow in November. See http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2014/08/20/canada-fall-weather-forecast_n_5696285.html

Just what we need after last winter’s ice storm, polar vortex and all that nonsense. I’m still waiting for the powers that be (you know who that is) fixes the damage from last winter in my garden. My big juniper tree in front is coming back too slowly and I think after all the cold, ice, etc. of last winter I deserve to have that tree make at least an 80 per cent comeback – preferably before winter sets in.

And I’m not looking forward to another cold, icy, snowy winter. I’m not looking forward to winter at all. I loathe winter with a passion just as much as I love spring, summer and early fall (before the cold hits) with a passion. Although I try to go for a daily walk year-round, I don’t ski, skate anymore, snowshoe or do any other winter sports, and HATE the cold, snow, ice etc. The only thing about winter that I do like are the fashions, but I don’t like bundling up.

Going into my garden is a mixed pleasure and I do a lot of that, savouring its goodness – the flowers, tomatoes, carrots, onions and herbs. Even mowing the lawn with my push mower is pure joy. It is that time of the year when I wish it were July 1 again and we could do it all over.

Instead I’ll just spend a lot of time in my garden.

And shake my fist up at the sky with a “don’t you dare” warning.

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

Leave a comment

Filed under Extreme Weather, Garden Destruction, Gardening, God, Only child, Weather forecasts fall and winter 2014, Winter Weather

Leave a Reply

