Only Child gets her house in order – literally

Some of Only Child's house-cleaning tools.

Some of Only Child’s house-cleaning tools.

Part of my “delete project” includes sprucing up the house as I go along. You can’t just ditch stuff (into recycling or repurposing or the garbage) without cleaning up where they used to be. Or you can take it the other way around and in the process – ditch stuff.

It is also amazing what you will find.

This past weekend I decided I just had to do something about the wooden oak floor in the front hall, living room and my office (formerly the dining room) plus the laminated wooden floor in the kitchen. The former three looked a little scruffy – what you coul see. So I decided to do something my late mother seldom did – move the furniture to clean. (Mother’s idea was to vacuum and dust if company were coming and maybe a few times in between).

No company coming here but after seeing the shiny wooden floors at my cousins when on holidays last month my shabby floors looked terrible. True their wooden floors aren’t oak and are much newer but…

So I pulled out the chesterfield and found two pens, a cat toy, and dirt. So I got to work – removing the items, vacuuming and mopping and then using one of those Swifter-like mops (the ones with the bottle attached to put in water and in my case, Murphy’s Oil) all over the floors in the living room, my office, front hall and kitchen.

What a difference.

And when you physically cleanse something, it also helps cleanse your mind. You feel a combination of relief, satisfaction and “hey, my house now looks good.”

At least it does with me. It also frees me up to do something I have been wanting to do for awhile – another sort of delete.

More on that in another post.

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

Leave a comment

Filed under Clutter, Home and Garden, Mother, Only child, Sharon A. Crawford

Leave a Reply

