Only Child hit with another 2013 run off – leaky basement

Only Child gearing up to tackle government depts and companies that screw up her life

Only Child gearing up to tackle government depts, companies and individuals that screw up her life

The snow melt itself over the weekend was okay. But as soon as the rain and wind started coming from the east, water got in my basement. In my usual cynical, non-trusting nature, I had towels and mats down in strategic places and they caught it. This time the water came in on the rec room floor – on the far side of the house – yet another place where it was coming in before Nigel supposedly fixed it with the big excavation in April 2011.

This isn’t the first time since then that some water has gotten in the basement. Because nothing got in through the walls between April 2011 and the end of February 2013, what Nigel did worked – for those wall cracks.

But he didn’t dig down far enough. Afterwards, from talking to others, I found out he should have dug down right to the weeping tiles, but he only went four feet down. I remember him telling me that he would be going down four feet. (Yes, I have written documentation of his job and he was supposed to go down to the weeping tiles; but all these events traumatize me so I can’t think straight especially if I don’t know what I’m supposed to think). Last year after the February leak there were four others and nothing after July 8.

Until Saturday, January 11, 2014.

Of course, last year I called Nigel in and he said something about maybe a minute crack in the weeping tile or maybe it was the drains and to get the city and a private plumber/contractor to check my drain – he doesn’t do that. A fellow from the City of Toronto Water Works Dept. (bless him) came and did the full check from my house end of the drain out to the city’s on the street.

Clear.

Nigel is talking through his thick skull.

My take on this is because Nigel didn’t do his job right, the part he.did do is okay, but the part he didn’t screen etc. is where it’s coming from.

Even with help from my ex-husband paying half (he says he will) I cannot afford another excavation. I have other emergency-like things with the house to get done this spring – like a few new windows because one leaks (but this wasn’t the cause of Saturday’s problem) and another one or two or three get the condensation freezing up in cold weather.

Right now I have to look into the leaky basement situation more – get information and quotes from other professionals in this line of work; find some people in the Toronto area who have had the same type of basement leaks fixed and that it has worked for at least four years – and get their contractor’s contact info; decide if I want to leave the situation and do a wait and see; or get Nigel back and see what he says.

I may do all of the above.

All the consumer advocacy I got thrown into the latter part of 2013 has taught me a few things.

No longer do I let big business, government, contractors, etc. etc. get away with screwing up my life. It’s bad enough dealing with your own mistakes. But when it’s others’ mistakes and they encroach on you and cause you grief, anxiety, money and time, that’s when to put your foot down. And when the screw-ups caused by others are higher in number than your own mistakes, something is wrong out there.

Has anybody noticed this ratio of the number of others’ screw-ups to your own mistakes? This is a new phenomenon for me. Sure, I’ve had patches of four things going wrong at a time in the past, but I would solve them and that was that until the next patch. And they didn’t outnumber my own mistakes.

One thing is certain – this is the year I declare war on Nigel for causing me grief for not doing his job right in the first place in 2011.

And in case you are wondering, he was recommended, but by someone he knows, not by someone he did work for. He also did other jobs for me – did a beautiful job of recreating/fixing my front veranda, as well as fixing the chimney bricks. And he does this waterproofing business for other clients.

“Life” has to turn around quite a bit for me to get rid of my almost continual crankiness. That means a lot of the “outside stuff” has to be gone/fixed. Right now the good is at 25 per cent and where I am in my life based on my wants and needs is at 40 per cent and that’s pushing it. For a senior that is not a good rate.

Excuse me now while I get ready to do something in that 40 per cent –promote my mystery short story collection Beyond the Tripping Point (Blue Denim Press, Oct. 2012). I’m scheduled to guest on a TV interview show today up in Richmond Hill

All right it’s cable TV but it’s up in York Region – where some of my stories take place and where I and four other Crime Writers of Canada authors will be reading March 14 at the Aurora Public Library.

You gotta grab the few good moments in life when you can.

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

Leave a comment

Filed under Consumer action, Faulty Contractors, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

