Only Child continues consumer agitating– Rogers Cable TV and Day-Timer

Only Child  rests before doing more battle with companies screwing the consumer

Only Child rests before doing more battle with companies screwing the consumer

My consumer agitation and advocating continues. Every week I pick up at least one more company or government agency to add to my (s)hit list.

The Rogers Cable TV saga continues. Last week the tech service guy showed and because the service had kicked back in again before his arrival, he did a cursory check of the TV, digital adapter box, cables downstairs (just stared at them) and the outside box on the brick wall. He said the problem was because Rogers is doing the final upgrades for all digital service and went into a rant about one area of Toronto’s (not my area) service disruption and many calls from the apartments in that area.

Wrong diagnosis. The past weekend the cable service went again – from Friday until yesterday afternoon (Monday). Friday I phoned yet again and complained and after insisting, I  talked to the same supervisor of two weeks ago. He said it was not service upgrades but a street problem if more than one person on the street had the problem. (I had already phoned Tanya next door). I told Richard the supervisor that the service was fine across the street as I had also checked with a friend there. He figured it was a loose old cable or maybe one where some water got in. He said he would try to escalate my Monday appointment (for later Saturday and/or Sunday) but that didn’t happen.

Monday afternoon two tech service guys showed up and said there had also been a call from No.9 on my street and they figured it was something in the cable over the end of the backyard behind No. 5.

Do you think? I had been hammering at the techies who came before to check the damn cables at the end of the backyards because I figured it could be there. None of the other two listened to me. Hey, I’m just a customer, not a techie, so what do I know? Turns out I was right. These two guys did check out the back cables – they were there for some time – and  checked right across the back of our properties. They said maintenance would be called in and service should be 100 per cent within 48 hours, although there could be a bit more disruption before then. But as I had not service when they arrived, one of them fiddled with the cable going into the digital adapter box and got the service working.

It was nice to be able to watch some TV last evening. So far I’ve missed Blue Bloods, The Mentalist, Once Upon a Time, Grimm, Heartbeats (or parts of them), Bones and a new Christmas movie. I got about $21. and some odd cents off my bill I just paid. And I pulled the senior card and am getting an extra $10 off each month for a year. The bill I paid last week was less than what I paid when I first moved here 15 years ago. It’s the least Rogers could do.

I was ready to go to Rogers head office in midtown Toronto and picket.

The latest consumer issue is the Day-Timers I have been ordering annually for at least 25 years from the company of the same name. The Day-Timer company  used to be in Niagara Falls and now they are down in Florida – at least the call centre is – that I think may be new this year. And the company has the nerve to still call themselves Day-Timer Canada? Well, they are out of stock of my standard order and won’t have more in until January 8 and it will take up to two weeks to get shipped to me. By tortoise I presume. They offered me a choice of a couple of other similar Day-Timers (one Day-Timer per month and similar setup of two pages for each day) both now in stock. I didn’t like the first choice and the second one only a little better. I kicked up a fuss about all this so they are waiving the shipping charges. While the guy was getting this all set up I did an online search of Staples (who used to carry Day-Timers but at a higher price) but they don’t anymore. So I went with second choice and no shipping charges.

But I’m not happy. I don’t recommend doing business with Day-Timer of any country. If you are a company carrying appointment books and planners it kind of helps if you have plenty  in stock to get to the customer before the year starts.

And before anyone tells me to go online for my calendar/planners – been there, tried that. Don’t like it. Not having a smart phone or any other kind of cell plus, I’m not online 24/7 – by choice. Throw in what the Day-Timer guy said. My particular planner sold out fast this year because more people were ordering them this year.

So technology apparently isn’t ruling everywhere.

No wonder I’m cranky24/7.

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

Leave a comment

Filed under Consumer action, Daytimer, Only child, Rogers Cable TV Service

Leave a Reply

