Only Child tackles more consumer issues – Swiss Chalet

Only Child  rests before doing more battle with companies screwing the consumer

Only Child rests before doing more battle with companies screwing the consumer

Sometime I think that crawling into a hole would be heaven. It’s winter – too early this year. But mainly I am fed up beyond the top of my head with all the crap big business and big government shoves at you when you are just going about your daily business.

My current battles are with Rogers Cable TV and Swiss Chalet.

Let’s cover the latter first as it is shorter and less complicated.

Sunday evening my friend Carol and I went out to dinner at the Swiss Chalet near our homes. I’ve never had problems with any Swiss Chalet before but the waitress who “served” us takes the cake (stale preferred; she doesn’t deserve fresh) for stupidity and dishonesty.

The actual taking our orders and bringing the food went okay. However, when our bills came, that’s when the trouble started. Carol’s bill was fine. But I was overcharged for the extra side – the sweet potato fries. Anyone who has eaten at Swiss Chalet knows that most of their main dishes include the cost of one side and for any others you pay extra. I was charged $4.58 for the sweet potato fries. Where did this broad get this amount? Not on the menu. The menu said $6.49 for a large order of sweet potato fries on their own and $1.99 for a side. I didn’t care if the fries or the vegetable medley was the extra side to pay for as long as I was charged the correct amount.

Trying to make this broad understand was worse than the proverbial pulling teeth. First she said she gave me a large order of SWF; but she finally did go back to change it.

Still not correct. Now the basic dish had gone up $2. and the Sweet Potato Fries were charged as an extra $1.99. So, I disputed this. She didn’t understand – or pretended she didn’t.

“Get me the manager,” I said.

The manager arrived and I explained the situation to him and reiterated that I didn’t care which side was included in the main dish price and which was the extra side. But I shouldn’t be charged for two sides. He checked with the menu and said the SPF are always $1.99 as a side but he conceded the menu didn’t make that clear. So he fixed the bill and this time it was right. When Ms Duffuss came back for the money, I paid with a $20. She asked if I wanted change and I said “yes.”

She didn’t come back with my change. I saw the manager still around the tables and called him over and said I was still waiting for my change. He spoke to Ms Duffuss and she returned with four quarters on the bill platter.

“I already gave you the change,” she said.

“No you didn’t,” I replied. I picked up two quarters and left the rest. Fifty cents was my change, not $1.

She didn’t get a tip and as the manager was aware of her incompetence, I hope he fired her.

This week I’m calling Swiss Chalet head office – you know the number on the bill with the “How did we do today?” and an access code?

I won’t boycott Swiss Chalet – even this branch – but if Ms Duffuss is still there I’ll make sure I don’t sit in her area.

Next week the Rogers Cable TV story.

What consumer issues have you personally run into lately? Do you let them slide or tackle them? Please comment.

And for those in the Toronto, Ontario Canada area interested in writing memoir I’m doing another Kick-starting Your Memoir Using the Six Senses this Thursday evening (Nov. 28) at the Beaches branch of the Toronto Public Library. See http://www.torontopubliclibrary.ca/detail.jsp?Entt=RDMEVT147744&R=EVT147744

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

2 Comments

Filed under Consumer action, Life demands, Money

2 responses to “Only Child tackles more consumer issues – Swiss Chalet

  1. Daniela

    A customer service rep from the city of Toronto Welcome Policy was very snarky to me recently (welcome policy is a subsidy you can get for recreation programs if you’re near or under the poverty line) I work in customer service so I let it slide but she talked to me as if I was an idiot.

    • Hi Daniela:
      Sometimes I think the qualification to work for some companies is to be stupid. Maybe we need to apply a friend of mine’s principle. It’s for driving but I think it applies. She says she drives as if everyone else on the road is an idiot.
      Maybe we consumers should apply this to whomever we deal with in business or government (there are a few exceptions such as Service Canada, particularly the Gerrard Square Branch in Toronto – so far.}

      I do try to be police until I run into the stupidity.

      Cheers.
      Sharon A.
      Only Child Writes

Leave a Reply

