Only Child – as I see it with many more crises

Only Child's sanctuary - again threatened by negative destructive curses

Only Child’s sanctuary – again threatened by negative destructive curses

The list of crises keeps growing – some repeats and some new. Another world, another life looks awfully tempting. It is not fun having to deal with all the crap coming your way when you have to do it on your own. At least the old air conditioner seems to be working at this point.

So here we go again with more negative destructive curses (not challenges as others might see them).

Repeat: a bit of water in the basement – not to see but the floor in a couple of areas by the same outside wall was damp this morning. So I called the a****** who did the excavation, sealing, etc. two years ago (again – he didn’t return my last call last week.) He’s supposed to continue doing testing – heavy hosing of various parts of that outside wall – one area at a time, but has only done the window and that’s not it. He called me back this morning but refuses to come until I get the city and some private professional to check the drains from the city end and the house end. He went on and on about problems the drains could cause if that is it until I interjected with I’m tired of dealing with all this crap coming at me and reminded him that it is only me who is stuck doing so. I finally said I’d call the city. But I haven’t yet because…

I had to call Direct Energy – I rent my water heater (gas) from them and I had no hot water coming out of the tap this moenin. True, I had run the bathroom hot water taps for a bit to clear a hunk of soap that got down the drain (the idiot handyman had not put a catch at the top of the new drain setup) but that shouldn’t be enough to finish the hot water in the tank. The Pilot light is still on; I turned the water heater thermostat up to high and there appears to be some noise indication that it might be working. I still booked an appointment with them to check it out tomorrow if the hot water doesn’t come back in a few hours. Couldn’t get an appointment for later today but that’s partly because…

My sinuses are acting up – I get periods of sinusitis for various reasons – allergies and a compromised immune system and the big factor – too much stress in my life. This time it’s bothering my left eye – with odd periods of some blurriness when at the computer. The sinus stuff started on Saturday when I felt extremely tired and just wanted to crawl into a hole. A nap helped here but my eye was still sore. However, it was getting much better until I woke up this a.m. Now it seems to be somewhat better again but I made an appointment with my optometrist for this afternoon and hope all that will be needed is some anti-biotic eye drops. Because of my compromised immune system and digestive-gastro medical condition, I can’t take oral anti-biotics.

And the weird one. Last evening when watching TV, the screen suddenly went to that black and white snow static. I figured it was the digital cable adapter – the cable company had already been in a couple of months ago to fix some worn-out cables. But the TV came back a few minutes later and provided it doesn’t occur again I can only conclude it was something at “their” end.

I think I mentioned in previous posts that these are negative destructive curses – not positive challenges. Had quite a discussion with a friend who believes even the bad things happening are challenges. She says that if I got very sick I wouldn’t make it with my attitude. Not quite. Just because I see something as a negative destructive curse doesn’t mean I just sit back, moan and let it destroy me. No. The bottom line for me is when a challenge or a curse arrives inside my doorstep, the problem or challenge has to be solved – either by me or experts – and the sooner the better. But it is all very scary when you have to go it alone.

However, except for the Sears guys for the blinds installations (one even sent me a thank you note. Very good and heart-warming), some help from some friends and family, and (grudgingly said here) even the incompetent new handyman for doing a few things right (fixing air conditioner – so far – and the eavestrough and tree branch stuff), it’s me I have to depend on.

So I reserve my right to be cranky. And when all these off and on rainstorms/thunderstorms are done for a bit, I will get back out in the garden and yank more weeds. Guess whose names will be invisibly on the weeds?

That is if I can – Bell Canada is doing conduit work underground at the end of the property – if I’m lucky it will only be part of the driveway and not part of my rose garden at the end of my property by the driveway (see photo at top) . I’m still waiting to hear back from my city councillor’s office on that situation. Meantime, I have been slowly cutting back the overhanging rose bush branches so the “conduit” workers can do their job – as long as they stay out of the garden.

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

2 Comments

Filed under Aloneness, Family and Friends, Gardening, Health, Help and Support, Home and Garden, Only child, Problems, Stress

2 responses to “Only Child – as I see it with many more crises

  1. Yowza! You’ve definitely got a platter full. I’m sorry you have to go at it by yourself.

  2. Hi Laurie:

    Thank you. Your comment really helps -especially asI found more damp wet walls found in a new area of the basement since my last post. But it’s not the drains. They city did the test for it.

Leave a Reply

