Only Child weighs in on eating to lose weight

Eat fresh foods where possible to lose weight http://www.arthursclipart.org/vegetables/veggiescol1.htm

Eat fresh foods where possible to lose weight

I’ve never been obese…yet, even as a child. The most I’ve ever weighed was when pregnant. In high school I came close to that pregnancy weight. After gaining five pounds over this past winter, I decided to do something about it.

“Thou shalt not” doesn’t sit too well on my stomach and when your tummy is your main problem due to a digestive disorder (that’s me), maybe looking at what you eat would help. So I trolled through the articles on http://www.besthealthmag.ca and found something really interesting – a slide show (not video) on Top 20 Flat Tummy Foods at http://www.besthealthmag.ca/swap-and-drop/top-20-flat-tummy-foods?slide=1.

Some of the foods and beverages included surprised me. Although one of my favourites, ice cream, didn’t make the list, dark chocolate did. Also included are green tea, olive oil, onions, lemon, cinnamon, cucumber, low fat yogurt, legumes, chicken, turmeric, quinoa, pears, berries, salmon, miso, eggs and greens (especially spinach). At some time or other, I eat or drink all but the olive oil, turmeric and quinoa (although I have the latter and when I figure out what to do with it, I’ll try it). This list has got me motivated to drink or eat more of the other items.

Comments for each slide go into the benefits of each food item – for your tummy and other benefits such as antioxidant (berries, for example). Green tea may take the cake (which is not on the list) because it has a great effect on your metabolism – drinking it often can increase weight loss (as well as bathroom visits, no doubt) but it also slows down fat absorption and is an antioxidant. My green tea supply has disappeared but this three-prong piece of information may get me going to replenish the supply and drink it.

Another article tells you how to beat belly fat http://www.besthealthmag.ca/get-healthy/prevention/7-ways-to-beat-belly-bloat?slide=1. This one goes into some of the belly fat problems such as gas, bloating, etc. and references IBS. Suggestions include cut down on the salt, drink more water, peppermint tea and a baking soda-water combo (and live in the bathroom – it doesn’t say that).

For those who are focusing on the belly, you might also want to read Five Reasons Your Stomach  Hurts http://www.besthealthmag.ca/get-healthy/health/5-reasons-your-stomach-hurts – it covers acid indigestion, IBS and hits on the gut-killer – too much stress. Pointers include to cut the stress, calm your nerves and slow because we are always in a chronic state of stress.

That last point says it all. You can try to slow down all you want but will that get rid of the stressors? Getting rid of the stressors has always been my idea of reducing the stress level. However, that is not always easy, especially if, like me, you are alone in the world and have to do and organize everything yourself. Sure, you can try to cut back on what you do (and I’ve blogged about that before), but in reality the stressor may be something you have to do (for example, a painful treatment for a disease, which some people have to go through). And what if the stressor is a person in your life? You can’t go around killing your stressors.

But…I am a writer and journaling about it, putting the “stressor” (disguised and fictionalized, of course) into a short story or novel, works wonders. A relative who really irked me was the inspiration for a bad person in one of my short stories.

And I can pay more attention to what I eat and drink from those 20 food suggestions. I’ll get over ice cream not making the list but…isn’t it written somewhere that we can cheat one day a week? Or eat our favourite food in moderation?

Ice cream does contain milk.

Happy eating.

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

2 Comments

Filed under antioxidants, Digestive disorder, Health, Only child, Overeating, Stress, Water

2 responses to “Only Child weighs in on eating to lose weight

  1. Sharon A: Yesterday, one of our local TV news stations presented us with another of their not yet complete “scientific” reports, overwhelming us with 20 seconds of blather. This, about how children who eat breakfast daily apparently maintain a healthy weight. The study seemed to focus on boxed cereals. Wonder who sponsored it. Over a nine day period, those children who ate breakfast only 4 days had weight gains. Those who had breakfast for the whole nine days . . . Never once did I hear cereal mentioned until the the wrap-up. By the way, my own “research” concludes that anything served directly from the freezer contains no calories. Hope this helps. Yours truly, Toe.

  2. Hi Toe: sorry I didn’t reply sooner. WordPress in its wisdom tagged it as spam and I’m just checking through spam now. (WordPress has also been leaving in comments for approval that are definitely spam).

    That is good to know about anything served directly from the freezer contains no calories as I freeze fruit from my garden as well as chicken and fish (latter bought pre-frozen). Just have to watch if and what I add to them when I prepare them for meals.

    Yeah, the boxed cereals – one of the big cereal companies (no name mentioned) probably. I eat cereal (usually hot oatmeal) for breakfast daily – if I eat breakfast late – or even if I am late to eat any meal – I get low-blood sugar and get tired or somewhat disoriented or irritable…until I eat,.

    Cheers,

    Sharon A.

Leave a Reply

