Only Child weighs in with super-size kitchens

My childhood kitchen - my uncle, godmother and Mom

My childhood kitchen – my uncle, godmother and Mom

How large is your kitchen? In a New York Times article http://www.nytimes.com/2013/03/24/opinion/sunday/is-your-kitchen-a-health-hazard.html?_r=1& paediatrician Neil Isenberg thinks today’s trend towards supersize kitchens is contributing to our supersize bodies. The founder of KidsHealth.org lists all the extras from wi-fi to two fridges to separate freezers to pizza-makers to breadmakers as big contributors. So is our penchant for making our home the centre of entertainment and socializing. It’s all this proximity to food in our daily lives that may do us in.

My kitchen is small – about the same size as the kitchen in my childhood home – the latter a World War II built- bungalow. My current home is post-war (by four years) but the style is similar. Unlike many people, I don’t want a big kitchen – when I moved here 13 years ago I downsized in kitchen space. Visitors still hang out in my kitchen – whether for a party, snack break for my writers’ group gathering, or to eat lunch or dinner. And there are walls between kitchen and living room – no open spaces here. I like my rooms separate.

I have one fridge with freezer on top, stove with smooth top, room for a table and chairs, some counter space, double sink – few extras unless you count the rice steamer, crockpot and drip coffeemaker. No dishwasher (unless you count me) and yes, I have a breadmaker but I have to store it in the linen closet down the short hallway because it doesn’t fit in any kitchen cupboard. I don’t mind that – it’s having to climb up on a chair to get to the second and third cupboard shelves that irks me – but that’s not design – that’s because “the Lord” made me so short (to paraphrase what my late aunt used to say; she was shorter than me).

I like my kitchen; I like my house and its design – despite my complaints about always needing house repairs – but all houses, even new, need repairs. Sure, it’s a throwback to my growing-up years but lately I’ve been leaning back to a lot of things from earlier eras, even before I was born – at least pre-1975 because the more I live the more I see that I don’t like (Note: I do like some current things such as computers, e-readers and wireless phones – when they behave).

But for the most part, hurry-hurry-too-much information- too-much-to-do days do not sit well on my stomach.

And that may be the core of much of society’s obesity. We have too much to deal with, too much coming at us and we eat food for comfort and convenience.

Dr. Izenberg has one thing right. Proximity to food gets us eating more but that doesn’t apply only to super-size kitchens. I don’t have a dining-room per se, as I converted it into my office. However, it is two steps in from my kitchen and I like to snack. I try to do so on healthy foods, but when chocolate is around I get carried away.

My name is Sharon and I am a chocaholic.

So, I try to balance it all by walking and gardening (the latter if spring ever arrives to stay) before I become overweight.

What says you? Does kitchen size equal body size? Or?

Note of interest: At the end of another article at http://www.theloop.ca/opinion/family/article/-/a/2192453/New-study-suggests-that-our-kitchens-could-be-making-us-fat you can vote on kitchen size. I just did and guess what? So far most of those voting have a small kitchen.

Happy, but moderate eating.

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Health, Kitchen Size, Life demands, Mother, Obesity, Only child, Overeating, Sharon A. Crawford, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Only Child weighs in with super-size kitchens

  1. Fascinating article. Thanks for sharing. And I’m a chocoholic too!

  2. Thanks. Easter is one of the difficult times for us chocaholics – even bringing over a small basketful of those little chocolate eggs to my son and his girlfriend on Easter Sunday didn’t get rid of them all. At least Alison hid the basket but I had my own at home and still more chocolate eggs around here. When there is no chocolate around I don’t eat it.

Leave a Reply

