Only Child on time and money dilemma

Only Child will no longer sit on time like this teddy bear

Only Child will no longer sit on time like this teddy bear

Time or the lack of enough is worrying me. This time (pun intended) it is connected to money. Already I’m juggling editing one client’s work with trying to finish the rewrite of my novel which my publisher wants to see and doing PR (including workshop related prep) for my first published book, Beyond the Tripping Point. Two more ongoing clients’ work are due to arrive for editing the beginning of February. So far, I think I can manage the time with all of this (and it is all work I enjoy doing). However, I have another repeat client needing another book edited. The catch here is the book is very long; the timeline is very short, and the client has a budget. The money part? I may need this potential client’s money to pay bills next month.

Such is the dilemma of freelancers who work on contract. Add in my situation (which some others have too) – what I call “only person,” I have to factor in personal and house stuff which beyond the odd snow shovelling job, I can’t afford to pay someone else to do. I do try to limit how much I do, but still I am up late doing bits and pieces of housework that needs doing before morning.

Then there are people who want free writing and editing advice and take up my phone and email time. Right now I deal with this on a priority basis – if it doesn’t look like it might lead to work or it’s beyond a reasonable follow-up to work already done, I reply when I can squeeze it in. This may sound harsh, but to borrow a phrase, “business is business.” Or as someone once said, “I’m not running a charity.”

Which brings me to the prospective client with the large book and my time constraints (which this person knows about – right now the situation is at a “maybe”). I will have to expand my parameters – money- and time-wise and if it doesn’t work with this person, then so be it. I will need to hope that the other editing prospects delayed because the rewriting of the manuscript is taking longer than expected (and I understand that from personal experience) will come my way sometime later in February. I will manage on what I have even if it means yet another hit on the decreasing RRSPs. I am my late mother’s child after all. Mom didn’t work (it was the 1950s and early to mid-1960s) until my dad was in the last stages of brain cancer – and after he died her arthritis kicked in and forced her to quit working. Mom was very good at budgeting and making do with what she had.

One more year until I can collect the Old Age Pension – I received my application yesterday and that will get filled out and sent in this week.

Next year I hope to cut back on the editing, even though I like doing it, and focus more on writing and writing workshops and readings, as well as other PR.

To paraphrase my mother’s making do with what she had, I am good at making do with what I don’t have.

And as I’ve mentioned promoting my book Beyond the Tripping Point, below is  a link to a three-minute video of me reading an excerpt from one of its short stories, “The Body in the Trunk” when I appeared on the Liquid Lunch Show on http://www.thatchannel.com

Book is available in print and e-copy at both http://www.amazon.com and http://www.amazon.ca as well as other venues.

Cheers.

Sharon A. Crawford

Only Child Writes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgOKYgBfAwY&feature=youtu.be

3 Comments

Filed under Anxiety, Balance, Beyond the Tripping Point, Budget and budgeting, Decision Making, Life learning, Mom and Dad, Old Age pensions, Prioritizing, Self employed and cash flow, Sharon A. Crawford

3 responses to “Only Child on time and money dilemma

  1. Hi Sharon,
    For what its worth, my thoughts say spend you time on all avenues that are likely to pay you in the short term. The one Long time consuming job, you mention can wait. I would just put it in the Que. What if that is all you worked on and then weren’t paid when you expected? It’s like putting all your eggs in one basket….. They may be pushing to be done first, but writing and editing takes time and they should wait their turn like everyone else in this business. That’s just what came to mind when you wrote your blog. That way you also won’t be short-changing the other people that are also depending on you.
    Joan Sheldon….. presently in Santa Cruz, but wintering in Kona, HI

  2. Hi Sharon,
    For what its worth, my thoughts say spend you time on all avenues that are likely to pay you in the short term. The one Long time consuming job, you mention can wait. I would just put it in the Que. What if that is all you worked on and then weren’t paid when you expected? It’s like putting all your eggs in one basket….. They may be pushing to be done first, but writing and editing takes time and they should wait their turn like everyone else in this business. That’s just what came to mind when you wrote your blog. That way you also won’t be short-changing the other people that are also depending on you.
    Joan Sheldon….. presently in Santa Cruz, but wintering in Kona, HI

  3. Hey Joan:

    Thanks for being the voice of sanity here. I’m going to follow your advice. I’ll tell this “Johnny-be-late” prospective client that I’m not available until March to edit his manuscript. He is in a hurry (publisher needs manuscript) and while I can understand this, I’m not going to make myself ill over a manuscript that is (are you ready for this?) over 200,000 words long. If he says “no” I’ll take my other option(s) mentioned in my blog post.

    Cheers.

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

