Only Child on blogging and ABC award nominees

Only Child reading some of her writing scribbles

Now that I’m one of the recipients of the ABC Blog Award, it’s my turn to nominate a few bloggers whose blogs I like. As far as I know they haven’t been nominated for this award.

But first let’s look at another post that inspired me and I hope inspires you from Bloglovin.

http://www.feelgoodtribe.com/2012/04/30/crazy-talk-the-do-what-you-love-guide/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=crazy-talk-the-do-what-you-love-guide  (Sophie has posted an inspirational article by Leo Babauta), I can really connect with the message, especially the number one point: “If you don’t think it’s possible, do a small easy test. Don’t think you can start a blog? Sign up for a free WordPress.com or Blogger.com account and do a short post. Don’t tell anyone about it. Just write a post. It costs nothing, risks nothing, takes almost no time. But you will learn you can do that one little thing, and if you pass that test, you now know your theory of impossibility was wrong. You can do this with any skill, btw, not just blogging.”

That was me. I’ve wanted to blog for years and I knew it had to be something about writing, but what? I am involved in so many areas of writing – writing short stories, writing memoir, writing personal essays, writing a novel (or rewriting, more accurately), writing magazine and newspaper articles, teaching writing workshops and courses, and the other side of the fence – editing books and short stories. Encompassing all that in one blog could put the posts all over the place.

Finally I decided to centre my posts on the memoir which (at that point) I was still writing and fan out from its main focus – i.e., growing up in the 1950s and 1960s as the only child of elderly parents when your Dad is dying of cancer. Sometimes I quote excerpts from the memoir, where appropriate to the post, but often I’m into the fallout of being an only child (now only person) and what I have to face alone. That gets me into health issues, social issues, and well, writing a memoir. And being an “old journalist” I have to do research, so I hit the Internet. My Blog Link list is very long but it’s there so anybody can find more information.

So, with purpose and focus in hand (on my laptop actually) including my About the Blog and a sample first post, I went down to my son, Martin’s for help getting set up on Word Press. He’s the computer expert. That was the beginning of November 2009. Occasionally I still ask him a question about something in Word Press but I’ve learned a lot on my own.

I’ve also learned a lot from my readers, although I don’t have as many as Bloglovin or Leo Babauta  http://zenhabits.net. It is great to connect and share ideas (even though I am sometimes a bit slow getting back). Often what other bloggers write inspires me for my post (like today’s); often it is something in the news; often it is something happening in my life. Whatever it is, as Leo says, it is something I feel passionate about – whether it is gardening or writing or something on the down side, such as when a car hit me in a parking lot  or I got lost in the fog. These things all have deeper meanings than what occurs on the surface. Lost in the fog, for example, also means I sometimes feel lost (and overwhelmed) in what is going on in my life. That is an indication I need to take some action and will probably be learning another lesson.

And these bloggers have taught me much and they are the ones I am nominating for the ABC Award:

Bloglovin  http://www.feelgoodtribe.com/ Sophie has inspiring posts for a healthy mind, body and soul.

Alex Leybourne http://alexlaybourne.com/ He is another author – short stories and novels who posts about his writing – really gets to the gut of it. Inspiring.

Stephanie Miller http://livelighter.org/ She has a scientific background but gets down to the nitty gritty to get healthy. She’s recently tapped into her spiritual side and hopes to live to 120. Disclaimer: I know Stephanie personally.

Happy blogging and reading.

Cheers.

Sharon Crawford

Only Child Writes

The ABC (Awesome Blog Content) Award logo

Leave a comment

Filed under 1950s, 1960s, ABC Blog Award, Blogging, Fog, Health, Life learning, Martin Crawford, Memoir writing, Only child memoir, Sharon Crawford

Leave a Reply

