Only child ABC blog award nominee on Memoir

Only Child with Mom and Dad at her godmother's farm in the early 1960s.

One of this Onlychildwrites blog followers, TrishaDM nominated my blog for an ABC (Awesome Blog Content) Award. Thank you again, Trisha (http://trishadm.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/alphabet-soup-the-abc-award/). One of the criteria for those who receive the award from its creator, Alyson, of the Thought Palette blog (http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/abc-award/) is to nominate other blogs and also to share briefly something about yourself, from A to Z.

So in the spirit of this nomination, I’m going to go right to the middle of the alphabet to M and share what memoir writing means to me. After all, this blog is about thoughts and offshoots, including a memoir, from growing up an only child of elderly parents. And in the two and a quarter years of posting, I’ve covered a lot of “offshoots” including health, relationships, the stress of living as an only (I call it the “only person syndrome”), writing – memoir and fiction, and, of course, the actual memoir.

Writing a memoir is an ongoing process. When I thought I was done, I found I wasn’t. From family flak to finding new information and remembering more to getting a better idea on what to write and how to write it, I may be adding to the memoir as I go to my grave. (Hopefully a memoir book will be published long before then).

This process has made me realize that although a memoir comes from your past, it also engulfs your present and no doubt will go into your future. Some days I feel as if the spirits of my late Mom and Dad are here. A psychic friend actually felt my mother’s spirit here. When I revisited the old house where I grew up, I did not feel the presence of either parents. However, on a return visit to take some outside photos (with the present owners’ permission) I did sense Mom’s presence, especially when I visited the nearby park where as a child I use to swing sky-high on the swings.

It’s no wonder that some days I feel as if I am several people – the little girl walking through my past, the young woman who had to learn to get out of her shy hurt shell, to now where I’m still changing. Some days I feel younger; some days I feel older. Looking to the future is scary, but it is all part of my story, my life. Or as William Berry once said, The past is our definition.  We may strive, with good reason, to escape it, or to escape what is bad in it, but we will escape it only by adding something better to it. 

Those are wise words for all of us, especially those of us who don’t want to forget the past but need to incorporate the present and move on into the future. Live life from the heart.

What says you?

Cheers.

Sharon Crawford

Only Child Writes

Only Child with her son, Martin, part of today's family. Martin is also "M," but son also comes under "S."

3 Comments

Filed under ABC Blog Award, Elderly parents, Family, Health, Life learning, Memoir writing, Mom and Dad, Only child, Psychic Experiences, Sharon Crawford

3 responses to “Only child ABC blog award nominee on Memoir

  1. Congratulations on your ABC Award!
    As the originator of this award you may be interested to know that I have now set up a Facebook group for all bloggers who have been given the ABC Award – a place for you to meet new bloggers, and share and support each other. You can join the group here:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/ABCaward/?bookmark_t=group
    Please also let any other bloggers, that you know have been given the award, know about this group too – then we can all ‘spread the word’
    I have also set up a Facebook page – the ABC Award – where you can now add links to all of your blog posts and writing – share your work with a new audience, gain new readers, and find out what other ABC Award bloggers are writing about.
    You can find the page here:
    https://www.facebook.com/ABCaward?bookmark_t=page
    Just ‘like’ the page and get started – and do let all your blog readers know about this page – I believe that all of our blogs can only be improved by letting our readers know about other blogs – that way you will also have new readers discover you too!
    Happy blogging – and congratulations again on the ABC Award – you’re awesome!

    • Thank you so much for this award. I am honoured. The only blogger that I know who won this award is Trisha who nominated me. Guess I have to do the A to Z brief looksee into something about me now that I’ve actually won. Thanks again. I may have a few blog posts to recommend to you.

      Cheers.

      Sharon

      Only Child Writes

Leave a Reply

