Only Child not keeping cool anywhere

Only Child ponders her problems

Have you ever had one of those week’s where everything seemed to go kaput? I have the past last week, except it was four big problems in four days and two more in the last two days. That, and an ensuing discussion with a friend on Saturday, got me thinking about attitudes, problems and problem solving, and life situations. And no, I’m not going into a long dissertation about all of mine. I guess the bottom line is: what do you think and want (or not want) concerning the problems occurring in your life.

Before I go any further, I need to thank a couple of readers –  I haven’t yet because…

Thanks to Colline and Shirley for their comments on my post last week – Keeping cool in your home office. Usually I reply directly but I couldn’t and the why is one of those aforementioned problems  – disruption in Internet service off and on (mostly off) over three days last week. Unfortunately I was not one of the 99 percent with line problems outside. Nope, the problems were inside. The techie from my ISP/Phone service had to make THREE visits to sort everything out. And in the middle of it all my wireless phone went dead…but that seems to be connected (pun intended) to the ISP line problems because once the line part was fixed, my wireless phone worked. In the end, Mr. Telephone Techie fixed a faulty connector downstairs, updated the split in the line (for phone and ISP) in my home office  and set up a new modem cum router.

Meantime, the adapter for  my external hard drive would no longer connect to the actual peripheral, my kitchen tap set came loose from its setting, and my right eye suddenly developed red eye. Yesterday one of my foot problems kicked in and this morning one of my email servers suddenly isn’t working. A helpful neighbour  (he’s an electrician by the way) fixed the wandering kitchen tap, hopefully the Internet service will continue working and the email service will get fixed – I emailed the company owner about it using my other email account.  I have an appointment with my optometrist  this afternoon. I bought a new adapter and cover for the external hard drive and am still waiting for the other email service.

Enough of those six problems per se. I do find that being an only person is a hindrance. Who do you call for support when you have no siblings, no partner, no… well you get the picture. Not that a partner or sibling could fix all the problems, but misery loves company if only for moral and emotional support and maybe they could call the repair person and deal with him or her some of the time. So, I intend to magnify my GAD (general anxiety disorder) and get angry.

My friend suggested I try meditation and I might – if I can find the time. However, meditation won’t eliminate two things: the influx of too many problems and solving them. I might be a little calmer but I find anger, along with persistence,  helps get me moving to do something about the problems and dealing with any professional I’m trying to get here to fix the problem if he stalls about arriving or messes up in some way. I am polite with my neighbours and friends because I realize they are doing me a favour.  I find the best way to deal with problems is to solve them and get them out of the way as fast as possible. And using your intuition to do so helps – I need to learn to do this more. At the same time I find I get too many problems coming at me.  Which brings me to something else my friend said.

Viewpoint – does your viewpoint change the situation? Nope, not for me. I’ve tried being positive and expecting the best and then I get blindsided by several somethings going haywire. I’ve also been pessimistic and that gets mixed results -often nothing “bad” happens and sometimes it does. So much for the law of attraction or its opposite. I hate to say it but it just might be the “luck of the draw,” whether that luck is good or bad. And I know nobody’s life is problem-free but I also don’t believe that old religious teaching that we never get more crosses than we can bear. Never mind my situation. Look at more serious ones – all the people who have lost their homes through floods and fires, etc. What about people that “lose it” in life after experiencing too many tragedies. True, some people go the other way. Tragedies change them for the better.

Maybe the bottom line is we are all different – not just in who we are but in what we are and how we deal with life situations and just what those life situations are – our environment is a big factor.

What do you think?

Cheers.

Sharon

Only Child Writes

Leave a comment

Filed under Aloneness, Anger, Anxiety, Believing, Decisions, Law of Attraction, Luck, Only child, Overwhelm, Problem solving, Problems, Stress

Leave a Reply

