Only Child views trust and water

Only Child's house almost smack against the neighbour's.

The washing machine fiasco got solved on Friday – the repair guy replaced the part, gave me the seniors’ discount and I even had enough money to pay by cheque. But that’s not the end of  house-related grief.

Most people get bad things happening in threes. I’m “blessed” with the onslaught of four. This time it was water leaking again – but from outside the house into my rec room overnight Sunday. Not a heck of a lot but enough to scare me and anger me. Why? Because there have been basement floods before, including the big one in November 2005. But I’ve had all the necessary work done since then – inside and outside – to prevent floods in the basement – including some digging, grading, caulking, patio slab slanting, etc. June 2008 on that side of the house. Until last night it worked – that side of the house did not leak in water – until Sunday night.

So much for trust that things will work out if you take the precautions and ask/pray that these disasters won’t happen again. I might as well be screaming against the cement wall where the leak occurred. And it’s not as if I didn’t check the floor every day- just in case. Of course I didn’t expect to see water.

Fortunately my friend and masonry expert came over after my frantic phone calls yesterday. He thinks it might be due to some of the caulking missing and the sheet of whatever (this is how much I don’t know about this) shrinking, a gap between the windowsill and the patio, and one patio slab under the window heaving so it slides towards the window. We hope. He will fix some of it this week and the caulking when it warms up to 10 degrees (that’s 50 degrees F). I do not want or need the big dig – big machines coming in and digging trenches . There is no room for that between my house and the house next door. Maybe deep digging by hand could be done.

When I was growing up in a bungalow very similar to the one I live in now, my parents had no water leaking in the house from outside. The closest to that I can remember is a leaky radiator in the newly-built rec room. The plumber, a friend of my dad, had put this second-hand sucker in, so he had to fix it. The difference here is my parents had each other (well for a time until Dad died of cancer; then my mother fell apart) to talk over these stressful situations. I have no one – not only am I an only child but I don’t have a life partner. And as I have mentioned in previous posts, I have a son who helps where he can, but he has his own life with his girlfriend – although they got an earful about the water situation over dinner last night when I took them out for their birthdays (his is Feb. 17; hers is today). Thanks to the leaky basement I thought I might have to postpone.

Which brings me back to this trust issue. No matter what I do, say, read, or am told, it boils down to this. From my experience in all areas (including health, finances, family deaths, family betrayals), life is a land-mine. I have to come prepared, and at the same time, I have to realize that any amount of preparation won’t keep the baddies at bay.

The basement leak was No. 4 – in this set of baddies anyway. However, I’m not looking forward to this coming weekend of mixed precipitation.

Cheers.

Sharon

Only Child Writes

Leave a comment

Filed under Aloneness, Believing, Betrayal, Floods, Only child, Trust, Water

Leave a Reply

