Only child seeing believing and washing machines

Ringer washing machines - longer lasting than today's automatics?

I’m getting another instance of  “can you trust the future” on a personal level. My 10-year old washing machine started leaking from the bottom and the ensuing events have morphed into something out of The Twilight Zone or a weird variation of Ripley’s Believe It or Not.

First of all it shouldn’t have happened. The washing machine is a Maytag. And I also “pray” (ask, put it out there, whatever you believe in) that my appliances keep working okay and so they should as they are all four months to 10 years old. This may sound peculiar to some of you, but not to someone who has to live frugally. And I know my Catholic upbringing is showing. Some of it still sticks.

I’m beginning to think my late mother had it better with her ringer washing machine. Although you had to physically operate the machine, it did a good job and seemed to last forever. True you had to watch where you put your fingers. My mother told me tales of friends who didn’t.

I called the appliance sales and service place where I bought my washing machine – not to get any discounts – but to give them the business. I’ve bought all but one of my major appliances from them. The fellow there didn’t want my business. First, he asked me what type of heating I have and when I told him hot water gas, he went into a spiel about with radiators they can’t (by law) service washers and dryers in the winter unless the boiler has been checked and certified and proceeded to rhyme off a phone number to call about that.  He did tell me what they would charge to look at the washer, gave me the name of another appliance service, and then hung up – or we were disconnected. I tend to believe the former because I was very persistent about them removing the old freezer (per their agreement) when I bought a new one from them last October. So, I figured he has me labelled “troublemaker.”

I called the heating company who installed my new furnace and do annual cleanings, check-ups. They’d never heard of such radiator-winter nonsense but said the only test required by law is the Carbon Monoxide one and they’d done it. (I have written proof). I tried a couple more appliance repair businesses, including the Maytag one, and about fell on the floor when I heard the service charge – just to show up and diagnose the problem was $90 to $109. None of them had heard about the “law.”

I went back to the flaky company to get the phone number for the appliance repair service he’d recommended. I told him that I checked with my heating company and they did the only check required last November and I have the written proof. Now this fellow told me they were very busy with their other location and there was only one guy there. I asked for the phone no. of the other repair service. It turns out that was the number he rattled off before but not in connection with the company. This guy clearly needs some training in communication and consumer law.

I called the recommended company. Their service charge to show up and diagnose is a little higher than the flaky company but I booked an appointment. I did tell them the washing machine make so hope they can fix it okay without any other tangents. But I’m not holding my believing breath. Past experience has shown that when I trust that it will work okay, something often happens to mess it up. And no, expecting the worse, doesn’t stop it from happening; it just helps prepare you.

Meantime, I’m taking notes on all of this – just in case I have to go to a consumer advocate to straighten out the situation. I will also call my friend next door to see if I can maybe do a few loads of wash there this weekend. So far the washing machine leak is tiny and no big deal, but who knows what will happen after the service person arrives and takes it apart – if he has to put it together while we wait for parts.

Seeing is definitely believing with me. Too bad. It would be wonderful to do the opposite but the track record isn’t good for me. Once upon a time  I believed … until I saw, over and over again.

Cheers.

Sharon

Only Child Writes

1 Comment

Filed under Believing, Consumerism, Only child, Prayer, Trust, Washing machines

One response to “Only child seeing believing and washing machines

  1. Joan Sheldon

    Hi Sharon, Save yourself some grief…….
    Realize that TODAY things don’t last like they used to when we were kids or even young women. In those days, things were made in America and people took PRIDE in their workmanship. Things lasted 15 to 20 years sometimes.
    TODAY….we live in a different world. Things are made in China…. they work for MONEY, not pride… the repair place works for MONEY, not pride,
    The store works for MONEY… not pride.
    You get the picture…. and the CHEAPER one can make things, the more MONEY they make…. so things are made cheaper and wear out
    sooner and it will cost you more to repair a whole in a tub that leaks than it will to buy a new washing machine.
    Trust me…. I just went through this with a refrigerator….and so many parts…. is it the thermostat…no I think its the compressor, no maybe it’s the coolent…. when it could be the blower… or a belt….
    Replace one after another because the last fix wasn’t it and you have paid as much as a new refrigerator. The washing machine is probably the same story…. Just enjoy a NEW ONE…..
    Aloha, Joan

Leave a Reply

